Anambra State Government Sets Up Truth and Peace Committee

Anambra State Government Sets Up Truth and Peace Committee
Anambra State Government Sets Up Truth and Peace Committee

Anambra State government on Wednesday released names of Truth and Peace Committee set up by the state government.

According to a statement signed by one Prof. Solo Osita Chukwulobelu, the purpose of the Committee on Truth, Justice, and Peace was to seek a restorative justice approach for truth-telling or real facts, for the healing of the victims of the violence, accounting for responsibility and accountability of the actors, conditional mercy for the repentant perpetrators, restitution for certain losses and rehabilitation of the perpetrators, for the overall aim of restoration of peace and justice as well as the promotion of development in the State, and the region/Nigeria.

READ ALSO:   Finally, Spiff of 'The Johnson' reveals why he quits the TV Soap Opera

The further stated that the committee shall have a direct reporting line to the Governor or his designee, and will be provided with administrative support.

“The Committee shall be free to draw up the methodology to accomplish its assignment.
Time Frame:

“The Committee shall conclude its work no later than 6 months from its inauguration, with its preliminary report due no later than 2 months after the sunset and the final report after 2 months of receiving feedback on the preliminary report from the government.

“The Committee shall be inaugurated on a date to be communicated to its members.”

READ ALSO:   I became a p@rn star to survive in America — Afro Candy

Given the cross-border nature of the conflict, the statement stated that the focus of the committee goes beyond Anambra, and possibly covers the entire Southeast with Specifical terms of reference to include;

1. To identify the remote and immediate causes of the agitations, restiveness, violence, and armed struggle in the South East since 1999.

2. Document victims/circumstances of death, brutality and incarceration.

3. Identify stakeholders and groups who have played critical roles in the agitations and conflicts, their roles, capabilities and demands.

4. Address any other issue(s) that may be germane to unravelling the extent of the crisis and charting the roadmap for the future.

READ ALSO:   ABSU, UNN, NAU, ESUT, Others Missing As NUC Releases Names Of Fully Accredited Nigerian Universities

5. Make recommendations for sustainable peace and security in Anambra state/Southeast.

Disclaimer: shall not be liable to Opinions, Articles or Features that doesn't emanate from any of its staff and management. We also wish to reiterate that such personal or sponsored opinion, article or feature does not reflect the views of the publishers of, but the writer's
For publication of your news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials, please send to | For Advert and other info, you can call 09061217047 or send a WhatsApp Message to 09061217047

The members of the Committee are as follows:
1. Professor Chidi Odinkalu-Chairman
2. HE Amb. Bianca Ojukwu-Member / Secretary
3. Dr. Joe Nwaorgu
4. Dr. Udenta Udenta – Member
5. Dr. Uju Agomoh — Member
6. Rev. Fr (Msgnr) Jerome Madueke
7. Canon Dr. Okechukwu C. Obi-Okoye
8. Mr. Charles Oputa (Charly Boy)
9. Dr. John Otu
10. Mr. Ngozi Odumuko
11. Ms Onyeka Onwenu
12. Dr. Joe Abah
13. Mr. Chukwuma Okpalaezeukwu
14. Mr. Sam Egwuatu
15. Prof. Joseph Ikechebelu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.