Ikpeazu’s Chief Of Staff Emerges PDP Gubernatorial Candidate

Ikpeazu Chief Of Staff Favoured To Emerge PDP Governorship Candidate
Ikpeazu Chief Of Staff Favoured To Emerge PDP Governorship Candidate

The Chief of Staff to the governor of Abia State; Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, Chief Okey Ahiwe has emerged the governorship candidate of the Abia State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
Ahiwe emerged the governorship candidate of the PDP with 469 votes put of the 516 votes casts.
Other aspirants including Mayor Lucky Igbokwe, Ude Okochukwu (Deputy Governor of the state), Samson Orji scored 12 votes each.
According to the governor of Edo State, Dr. Godwin Obaseki who was the PDP returning officer disclosed that 12 votes were invalid.
Chairman of the party in the state, Rt. Hon. Allwell Asiforo Okere who described the re-run as special, hoped that the primary will be credible.
Rt. Hon. Okere who described the aspirants as credible people said that the party was happy that they fielded eminently qualified aspirants.
He charged them to be magnanimous in victory and expressed hope that the party would be stronger after the primary.
The chairman who lambasted the APC led government for subjecting Nigerians into untold hardship, stated that the PDP was committed to rescuing Nigeria from the duldrums that the APC government has plunged the country into.
In his speech, chairman of the PDP special congress and governor of Edo State, Dr. Godwin Obaseki who noted that Abia has remained a PDP state, begged the party members to help in strengthening democracy in the party by ensuring a smooth and transparent process of choosing the flagbearer of the party in the state.
Obaseki promised that the party would rally round whosever that the delegates chose as the party’s governorship candidate.
Earlier, three aspirants who participated in the governorship re-run stepped down for the Chief Of Staff to the governor of the state, Chief Okey Ahiwe.
The aspirants that stepped down include Deaconess Ezinwanyi Jonah, Chief Eric Opah and Bob Ogu who is the immediate Commissioner of Works in the state.
Eric Opah and Ahiwe are from the same Isiala Ngwa North local government area of the where stakeholders of the party has zoned the governorship ticket to, while the only female aspirant; Deaconess Ezinwanyi Jonah from Obingwa LGA also stepped down.
Our correspondent reports that with the stepping down the three aspirants, the delegates have five aspirants; Okey Ahiwe, Ude Oko Chukwu, Senator Emma Nwaka, Hon. Chief Sampson Orji and Mayor Lucky Igbokwe, to choose who will fly the flag of the party in the 2023 governorship election come March 11.
Observers from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) led by the electoral body’s national commissioner, Festus Okoye were present to monitor the process.
In his acceptance speech, Ahiwe said no victor no vanquish.
Ahiwe while thanking the delegates and leaders for consulting widely, adding that the decision of the party to zone the governorship ticket to Isiala Ngwa North would further strengthen the unity of the party.
He expressed confidence that the party was going to win the governorship seat in the state.

READ ALSO:   Atiku Arrives US For Campaign


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.